New JYAC chairman

Bruce Booth
New JYAC Chairperson, Bruce Booth

The 2023 JYAC AGM was held in Parnngurr on Thursday, 9 November 2023. Members heard reports from the Chairperson, the CEO and the auditor, and updates on the many significant projects that happened during the past year.

Three director positions were up for election this year, for Pitjikarli, Ngayunanalku and Karlamilyingurrara. All three directors were re-elected for 2-year terms:

  • Murphy Williams (Ngayunanalku)
  • Bill Williams (Pitjikarli)
  • Milton Chapman (Karlamilyingurrara)

At the first board meeting following the AGM, Bruce Booth was chosen as the new Chairperson. 

‘After a complete renewal of the board in 2022, we are happy to have all our directors re-elected for another term.’

‘We look forward to another year of protecting and managing ngurra through projects such as the new Martu IPA, and bringing economic benefits for Martu through strong negotations with mining companies working on our land.

‘We will also be strongly advocating to the state government to make progress on their commitment to recognise native title in Karlamilyi, and to make Martu communities safe and attractive places to live. 

‘Finally, I want to thank outgoing Chairperson Simon Frank for his hard work over the past 12 months,’ Bruce said.