New Board Directors Announced

Jamukurnu Yapalikurnu Aboriginal Corporation (JYAC) is pleased to announce the election of its new Board of Directors at the JYAC AGM in November.

JYAC Martu Board members are elected from 6 ‘districts’ across Martu ngurra.

This year, Directors have been elected under new arrangements so that half of the Board is up for election each year.

The 2 Independent JYAC Directors, Hon Tom Stephens and Raelene Webb SC are appointed separately and continue in their roles.

The new Directors and their terms are as follows:

• Simon Frank (Walakaja, 2 years)

• Murphy Williams (Ngayunanalku, 1 year)

• Anthony Gibbs (Rirrakaja, 2 years)

• Bill Williams (Pitjikarli, 1 year)

• Bruce Booth (Pilakaja, 2 years)

• Milton Chapman (Karlamilyingurrara, 1 year)

The new Board’s first meeting was on 18 November when Simon Frank was appointed Chairperson and Murphy Williams Deputy Chairperson.

The new Directors reflected on the work of JYAC over the past five years and said they were keen to start their terms.

Chairperson, Simon Frank said the JYAC Directors appointed this year know they have the job of representing all Martu and building on the achievements of those who had just finished their terms on the Board.

“The previous Directors provided strong leadership and set out a good path for JYAC – we thank them for their work and dedication,” Simon Frank said.

Outgoing Chairman, Mr Melvin Farmer said he was pleased to be handing over JYAC in good shape.

“I’d like to thank everyone for their support over the past 5 years.

“On behalf of my Board, we wish the new Directors well,” Melvin Farmer said.

Mr Farmer closed the 2022 AGM with the remark: “Palya iwarda kudanu kutu” (Take a good path to the future).